Cardiac Mechanics Research Group

The Cardiac Mechanics Research Group is based in the Department of Bioengineering and the Cardiology Division of the Department of Medicine at UCSD. Our research focus is on the mechanics and electrical dynamics of the normal and diseased heart from molecular to organ scales. The principal investigators are Andrew McCulloch and Jeff Omens, and we are funded by the NIH, NSF and other sponsors. Learn more »


  • We are seeking one or two graduate students, either PhD or Master’s candidates, to work on the Cardiac Atlas Project ( starting Fall quarter 2022. Students will work with world-renowned researchers and clinicians to create patient-specific computational models of congenital heart defect architecture and function during growth and remodeling. Bioengineering, physiology, pre-Med or similar backgrounds preferred. Training will be provided. Excellent communication skills, independence, and self-motivation required. If interested, please contact Dr. Andrew McCulloch ( and Dr. Jeff Omens ( with your resume/CV.